Ted Cruz and Others Will Object To Electoral College Votes

The growing list of Republican senators planning to object when the Electoral College votes are counted by Congress on Jan. 6 now includes Texas’ Ted Cruz and Tennessee’s Marsha Blackburn.

The two senators joined colleagues including Montana Sen. Steve Daines (R) and a handful of Republican senators-elect in a statement Saturday detailing why they will “reject the electors from disputed states” during Wednesday’s joint session.

According to Breitbart, the statement explains that the 2020 presidential election featured “unprecedented allegations of voter fraud, violations and lax enforcement of election law, and other voting irregularities.”

The statement goes on to detail widespread belief in the evidence: “Those allegations are not believed just by one individual candidate. Instead, they are widespread.”

The lawmakers added:

But, whether or not our elected officials or journalists believe it, that deep distrust of our democratic processes will not magically disappear. It should concern us all. And it poses an ongoing threat to the legitimacy of any subsequent administrations.

To read more about their statement, click here.

Share on facebook
Share to Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *